SATURDAY AFTERNOON SESSION | April 3, 2010



Presented by President Dieter F. Uchtdorf Second Counselor in the First Presidency

The Sustaining of Church Officers

t is proposed that we sustain Thomas Spencer Monson as prophet, seer, and revelator and President of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints; Henry Bennion Eyring as First Counselor in the First Presidency; and Dieter Friedrich Uchtdorf as Second Counselor in the First Presidency.

Those in favor may manifest it. Those opposed, if any, may manifest it.

It is proposed that we sustain Boyd Kenneth Packer as President of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles and the following as members of that quorum: Boyd K. Packer, L. Tom Perry, Russell M. Nelson, Dallin H. Oaks, M. Russell Ballard, Richard G. Scott, Robert D. Hales, Jeffrey R. Holland, David A. Bednar, Quentin L. Cook, D. Todd Christofferson, and Neil L. Andersen.

Those in favor, please manifest it. Any opposed may so indicate.

It is proposed that we sustain the counselors in the First Presidency and the Twelve Apostles as prophets, seers, and revelators.

All in favor, please manifest it. Contrary, if there be any, by the same sign.

It is proposed that we release the following as Area Seventies effective May 1, 2010: Jorge M. Alvarado,

Homero S. Amato, Manuel Araiz, Jorge D. Arrevillaga, Marcelo Bolfarini, Fernando E. Calderon, Gabriel A. Campos, Chu-Jen Chia, Flávio A. Cooper, Ronaldo da Costa, John C. Dalton, Kevin R. Duncan, Randy D. Funk, Robert H. Garff, Gerrit W. Gong, Frerich J. Görts, S. Horacio Guzmán, Ronald J. Hammond, Stephen W. Hansen, Yu Chen (Philip) Ho, Patrick Kearon, Christiaan H. Kleijweg, Larry R. Lawrence, Robert W. Lees, F. Rene Loli, Juan A. Machuca, Per G. Malm, Carlos S. Obata, Alexander A. Odume, A. Rolando Oyola, Melvin R. Perkins, James C. Perry, John C.

Newly sustained Primary general presidency

Pingree, Dinar M. Reyes, D. Chad Richardson, Maury W. Schooff, Hans T. Sorensen, John C. Taggart, Donald P. Tenney, G. Perrin Walker, Johann A. Wondra, and Kazuhiko Yamashita.

Those who wish to join us in expressing our gratitude for their excellent service, please manifest it.

It is proposed that we release Sisters Cheryl C. Lant, Margaret S. Lifferth, and Vicki F. Matsumori as the Primary general presidency.

We also release all members of the Primary general board.

All who wish to join us in expressing thanks for the dedicated service given by these sisters, please manifest it.

It is proposed that we sustain as new members of the First Quorum of the Seventy Kevin R. Duncan, Gerrit W. Gong, Patrick Kearon, and Juan A. Uceda; and as new members of the Second Quorum of the Seventy Larry R. Lawrence, Per G. Malm, and Jairo Mazzagardi.

All in favor, please manifest it. Those opposed, by the same sign.

It is proposed that we sustain the following as new Area Seventies: Ian S. Ardern, Philip K. Bussey,



René J. Cabrera, Renato Capelletti, Paul D. M. Christensen, Rogério G. R. Cruz, Donald D. Deshler, George R. Donaldson, Ini B. Ekong, Christian Fingerle, Craig G. Fisher, Jerryl L. Garns, Jack N. Gerard, M. Keith Giddens, Brent J. Hillier, Jui Chang Juan, George M. Keele, Dane O. Leavitt, Alexander T. Mestre, Aravik V. Minasyan, T. Jackson Mkhabela, S. Gifford Nielsen, Valentín F. Nuñez, Jeffery E. Olson, R. Ingvar Olsson, Robert N. Packer, Nathaniel R. Payne, Cesar A. Perez Jr., Fouchard Pierre-nau, Michael J. Reall, Edson D. G. Ribeiro, Brad K. Risenmay, Mozart B. Soares, Carlos A. Solis, Norland de Souza Lopes, Kouzou Tashiro, Omar Villalobos, W. Christopher Waddell, Alan J. Webb, Gerardo J. Wilhelm, Kevin J. Worthen, Craig T. Wright, and Jim L. Wright.

All in favor, please signify. Any opposed.

It is proposed that we sustain Rosemary M. Wixom as the new general president of the Primary, with Jean A. Stevens as first counselor and Cheryl A. Esplin as second counselor.

Those in favor, please manifest it. Any opposed.

It is proposed that we sustain the other General Authorities, Area Seventies, and general auxiliary presidencies as presently constituted.

Those in favor, please manifest it. Any opposed may manifest it.

President Monson, insofar as I have been able to observe, the voting in the Conference Center has been unanimous in favor of the proposals made.

Thank you, our dear brothers and sisters, for your sustaining vote and your continued faith, devotion, and prayers.

We invite now the newly called General Authorities and Primary general presidency to come forward and take their places on the stand. ■