NEWS OF THE CHURCH

Visit news.lds.org for more Church news and events.

New Area Leaders Assigned

The First Presidency has announced changes in area leadership assignments, effective on August 1, 2016. All members of Area Presidencies are General Authority Seventies.

The Seventy are called by revelation, under the direction of the First Presidency, to assist the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles in their ministry throughout the world.

During Christ's mortal ministry, He called the Seventy, instructed them in a manner similar to the Twelve Apostles, and sent them out "before his face," explaining that those who heard their voices would hear His voice (see Matthew 10:1, 16–17; Luke 10).

In a revelation given to the Prophet Joseph Smith in 1835, the Lord revealed, among other things, "the order of the Seventy, that they should have seven presidents to preside over them, chosen out of the number of the seventy" (D&C 107:93). ■

Presidency of the Seventy



L. Whitney Clayton Assists in all areas



Donald L. Hallstrom North America Northwest North America West



Richard J. Maynes North America Southeast



Craig C. Christensen Utah North Utah Salt Lake City

Utah South



Ulisses Soares Idaho North America

Central



Robbins North America Southwest

Asia



Gerrit W. Gong North America Northeast

Africa Southeast



Stanley G. Ellis First Counselor



Hamilton Palmer President Second Counselor



Africa West

Marcus B. Nash First Counselor



Terence M. Vinson **President**

Vern P.

Stanfill

Second

Counselor





Randy D.

Funk

President



Chi Hong (Sam) Wong First Counselor

David F. Evans Second Counselor

14 Liahona

Asia North





Kazuhiko Yamashita First Counselor

Scott D. Whiting President



Choi Second Counselor





Marcos A. Aidukaitis First Counselor



Claudio R. M. W. Mark Costa Bassett President Second Counselor

Caribbean



Claudio D. Zivic First Counselor

Europe East

James B.

Martino

First

Counselor

Pacific



President

Bruce D.

Porter

President



Hugo E. Martinez Second Counselor

Central America



Ochoa

First

Counselor

Mexico



Duncan President Second Counselor

Alonso

Europe



Paul V. Johnson First Counselor

Gary B. Sabin President Second Counselor

Middle East/Africa North

Patrick

Kearon



Larry R. Andersen Lawrence Administered from Church headquarters

South America Northwest

Carlos A.

Godoy







South America South

O. Vincent

Haleck

President

José A.

Teixeira

President



Larry S.

Kacher

Second

Counselor

S. Gifford Nielsen First Counselor

Craig A. Cardon Second Counselor

Philippines

Arnulfo

Valenzuela

First

Counselor



Allen D. Haynie First Counselor



Paul B.

Pieper

President



Rafael E.

Pino

Second

Counselor

Evan A. Schmutz Second Counselor



Lawrence E. Corbridge First Counselor



Hugo Montoya President Second Counselor



Allan F. Packer First Counselor





Bragg Second Counselor

