NEWS OF THE CHURCH

Visit news.lds.org for more Church news and events.

New Area Leaders Assigned

The First Presidency has announced changes in area leadership assignments, effective on August 1, 2015. All members of Area Presidencies are members of the First or Second Quorum of the Seventy.

The Seventy are called by revelation, under the direction of the First Presidency, to assist the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles in their ministry throughout the world.

"The history of the Seventies really goes back to the Old Testament," said President Boyd K. Packer, President of

the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles.1 The first reference to the Seventy is found in Exodus 24:1, and they are later referred to in Numbers 11:16-17, 25, when they are gathered to assist Moses.

During Christ's mortal ministry, He called the Seventy, instructed them in a manner similar to the Twelve Apostles, and sent them out "before his face," explaining that those who heard their voices would hear His voice (see Matthew 10:1, 16-17; Luke 10).

"We believe in the same organization that existed in the primitive Church," President Packer said. "And it included Seventies." (See Articles of Faith 1:6.) In today's rapidly growing Church, the Seventy play an important role in assisting the Twelve. "Seventies by delegation can do anything the Twelve tell them to do," President Packer said.² ■

NOTES

- 1. Boyd K. Packer, in "The Twelve and the Seventy, Part One: Revelation and the Role of the Seventy" (video), LDS.org.
- 2. Boyd K. Packer, in "The Twelve and the Seventy."

Presidency of the Seventy



Ronald A. Rasband Assists in all areas



L. Whitney Clavton Utah North Utah Salt Lake City Utah South



Donald L. Hallstrom North America Northeast



Richard J. Maynes North America Northwest North America West



Craig C. Christensen Idaho **North America** Central



Ulisses Soares North America Southeast



Robbins **North America** Southwest

Africa Southeast



Stanley G. Ellis First Counselor



Carl B. Cook President



Kevin S. Hamilton Second Counselor

Africa West



Terence M. Vinson First Counselor



LeGrand R. Curtis Jr. President



David F. Evans Second Counselor

Asia



Randy D. Funk First Counselor



Gerrit W. Gong President



Chi Hong (Sam) Wong Second Counselor

Asia North



Kazuhiko Yamashita First Counselor



Scott D. Whiting President



Yoon Hwan Choi Second Counselor

Brazil



Jairo Mazzagardi First Counselor



Claudio R. M. Costa President



Marcos A. Aidukaitis Second Counselor

Caribbean



Claudio D. Zivic First Counselor



J. Devn Cornish President



Hugo E. Martinez Second Counselor

Central America



Adrián Ochoa First Counselor



Kevin R. Duncan President



Jose L. Alonso Second Counselor

Europe



Johnson First Counselor



Patrick Kearon President



Timothy J. Dyches Second Counselor

Europe East



Jörg Klebingat First Counselor



Bruce D. Porter President



Kacher Second Counselor

Mexico



Paul B. Pieper First Counselor



Benjamín De Hoyos President



Arnulfo Valenzuela Second Counselor

Middle East/Africa North



Larry R. Lawrence



Wilford W. Andersen Administered from **Church headquarters**

Pacific



O. Vincent Haleck First Counselor



Kevin W. Pearson President



S. Gifford Nielsen Second Counselor

Philippines



Shayne M. Bowen First Counselor



lan S. Ardern President



Allen D. Haynie Second Counselor

South America Northwest



W. Christopher Waddell First Counselor



Juan A. Uceda President



Carlos A. Godoy Second Counselor

South America South



Francisco J. Viñas First Counselor



Walter F. González President



José A. Teixeira Second Counselor