NEWS OF THE CHURCH

Area Presidency Assignments

North American Areas Now Overseen by Area Presidencies

he First Presidency has announced that areas in the United States and Canada—previously overseen by members of the Presidency of the Seventy will be administered by Area Presidencies. This change will be effective August 1.

"The creation of Area Presidencies for the United States and Canada is an important step forward," said President M. Russell Ballard, Acting President of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles. "It allows these Brethren to focus on the

specific needs of each region, providing counsel and direction to regional and local leaders. It also gives the Presidency of the Seventy greater capacity to assist the Quorum of the Twelve in their work and fulfill other assignments." ■

UNITED STATES AND CANADA

Idaho/North America Central



S. Gifford Nielsen First Counselor



Wilford W. Andersen President



Brian K. Taylor Second Counselor

North America Northeast



Kevin S. Hamilton First Counselor



Randall K. Bennett President



Allen D. Haynie Second Counselor

North America Northwest/ West



Scott D. Whiting First Counselor



Kevin W. Pearson President



Jörg Klebingat Second Counselor

North America Southeast



Shayne M. Bowen First Counselor



Claudio R. M. Costa President



Vern P. Stanfill Second Counselor

North America Southwest



Paul B. Pieper First Counselor



Lynn G. Robbins President



Adrián Ochoa Second Counselor

Utah



LeGrand R. Curtis Jr. First Counselor



Craig C. Christensen President



Randy D. Funk Second Counselor

OUTSIDE UNITED STATES AND CANADA

Africa Southeast



Joseph W. Sitati First Counselor



S. Mark Palmer President



Joni L. Koch Second Counselor

Africa West



Larry S. Kacher First Counselor



Marcus B. Nash President



Edward Dube Second Counselor

Asia



Peter F. Meurs First Counselor



David F. Evans President



David P. Homer Second Counselor

Asia North



Kazuhiko Yamashita First Counselor



Yoon Hwan Choi President



Takashi Wada Second Counselor

Brazil



W. Mark Bassett First Counselor



Marcos A. Aidukaitis **President**



Adilson de Paula Parrella Second Counselor

Caribbean



Jose L. Alonso First Counselor



Walter F. González **President**



Eduardo Gavarret Second Counselor

Central America



Jorge F. Zeballos First Counselor



Juan A. Uceda **President**



Valeri V. Cordón Second Counselor

Europe



Gary B. Sabin First Counselor



Paul V. Johnson **President**



Massimo De Feo Second Counselor

Europe East



Christoffel Golden First Counselor



James B. Martino **President**



Alexey V. Samaykin* Second Counselor

Mexico



Rafael E. Pino First Counselor



Arnulfo Valenzuela **President**



John C. Pingree Jr. Second Counselor

Middle East/Africa North



Wilford W. Andersen



Anthony D. Perkins

Administered from Church headquarters

Pacific



lan S. Ardern First Counselor



O. Vincent Haleck **President**



K. Brett Nattress Second Counselor

Philippines



Michael John U. Teh First Counselor



Evan A. Schmutz **President**



Taniela B. Wakolo Second Counselor

South America Northwest



Hugo Montoya First Counselor



Enrique R. Falabella **President**



Mathias Held Second Counselor

South America South



Mark A. Bragg First Counselor



Benjamín De Hoyos **President**



Juan Pablo Villar Second Counselor