Washington D.C. Temple

Temples of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, like those in ancient times, are holy buildings dedicated to the Lord. A temple, also called the house of the Lord, is a place where worthy Church members receive sacred ordinances and make solemn covenants with God. In these holy temples, families are sealed together forever. Although design and location vary, the work accomplished in each of the Lord's temples is the same.

Heavenly Father established a plan so that the blessings of the temple could be offered to all His children. People who have received their own ordinances are encouraged to return to the temple often to act as proxies for those who have died without having the opportunity of going to the temple for themselves.

In December 1968, Hugh B. Brown of the First Presidency dedicated the site of the Washington D.C. Temple in Kensington, Maryland. The design of the temple has been described as "a light to the world." Three towers to the east represent the Melchizedek Priesthood leadership, and those to the west represent the Aaronic Priesthood leadership. The Washington D.C. Temple was dedicated on November 19, 1974, by President Spencer W. Kimball. It became the 16th operating temple.

During the Christmas season each year, the Church hosts the Festival of Lights on the temple grounds, which people from all over the world come to see. The beauty of the temple and the serenity of the grounds draw the attention of many, often leading them to investigate the Church. In this way temples add to the missionary efforts of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and are truly a "light to the world."

Summary

Temples of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latterday Saints are holy buildings dedicated to the Lord. A temple is also called the house of the Lord. It is a place where worthy Church members receive saving ordinances and make sacred covenants with God. In temples families can be sealed together forever. The Washington D.C. Temple was dedicated on November 19, 1974, by President Spencer W. Kimball.

THE CHURCH OF JESUS CHRIST OF LATTER-DAY SAINTS