

**Presented by President Dieter F. Uchtdorf** Second Counselor in the First Presidency

## The Sustaining of Church Officers

Brothers and sisters, President Monson has invited me to present the names of the General Officers and Area Seventies for your sustaining vote.

It is proposed that we sustain Thomas Spencer Monson as prophet, seer, and revelator and President of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints; Henry Bennion Eyring as First Counselor in the First Presidency; and Dieter Friedrich Uchtdorf as Second Counselor in the First Presidency. Those in favor may manifest it. Those opposed, if any, may manifest it.

The vote has been noted.

It is proposed that we sustain Russell M. Nelson as President of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles and the following as members of that quorum: Russell M. Nelson, Dallin H. Oaks, M. Russell Ballard, Robert D. Hales, Jeffrey R. Holland, David A. Bednar, Quentin L. Cook, D. Todd Christofferson, Neil L. Andersen, Ronald A. Rasband, Gary E. Stevenson, and Dale G. Renlund.

Those in favor, please manifest it. Any opposed may so indicate. The vote has been noted.

It is proposed that we sustain the counselors in the First Presidency and the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles as prophets, seers, and revelators.

All in favor, please manifest it.

Contrary, if there be any, by the same sign.

The vote has been noted.

It is proposed that we release the following Area Seventies, effective on May 1, 2016: Manuel M. Agustin, Kent J. Allen, Stephen B. Allen, W. Mark Bassett, Patrick M. Boutoille, Mark A. Bragg, Marcelo F. Chappe, Eleazer S. Collado, Valeri V. Cordón, Joaquin E. Costa, Jeffrey D. Cummings, Massimo De Feo, Donald D. Deshler, Nicolas L. Di Giovanni, Jorge S. Dominguez, Gary B. Doxey, David G. Fernandes, Hernán D. Ferreira, Moroni Gaona, Jack N. Gerard, Ricardo P. Giménez,



Douglas F. Higham, Brent J. Hillier, Robert W. Hymas, Lester F. Johnson, Matti T. Jouttenus, Chang Ho Kim, Alfred Kyungu, Dane O. Leavitt, Remegio E. Meim Jr., Ismael Mendoza, Cesar A. Morales, Rulon D. Munns, Ramon C. Nobleza, S. Mark Palmer, Fouchard Pierre-nau, Gary B. Porter, José L. Reina, Esteban G. Resek, George F. Rhodes Jr., Gary B. Sabin, Evan A. Schmutz, D. Zackary Smith, Lynn L. Summerhays, Wenceslao H. Svec, Craig B. Terry, Ernesto R. Toris, Fabian I. Vallejo, Emer Villalobos, J. Romeo Villarreal, and Terry L. Wade.

Those who wish to join us in expressing appreciation for their excellent service, please manifest it.

It is proposed that we release with heartfelt gratitude Sisters Rosemary M. Wixom, Cheryl A. Esplin, and Mary R. Durham as the Primary general presidency. We likewise extend releases to members of the Primary general board. All who wish to join us in expressing appreciation to these sisters for their remarkable service and devotion, please manifest it.

It is proposed that we sustain as new General Authority Seventies W. Mark Bassett, Mark A. Bragg, Weatherford T. Clayton, Valeri V. Cordón, Joaquin E. Costa, Massimo De Feo, Peter F. Meurs, K. Brett Nattress, S. Mark Palmer, Gary B. Sabin, and Evan A. Schmutz.

All in favor, please manifest it.

Those opposed, by the same sign. It is proposed that we sustain the following as new Area Seventies: P. David Agazzani, Quilmer A. Agüero, René R. Alba, Victorino A. Babida, Steven R. Bangerter, Richard Baquiran, Dong Chol Beh, Michael V. Beheshti, Matthieu Bennasar, Hubermann Bien-Aimé, Kevin E. Calderwood, Luis J. Camey, Matthew L. Carpenter, Douglas B. Carter, Aroldo B. Cavalcante, Luis C. Chaverri, Ulises Chávez, Brent J. Christensen, Douglas L. Dance, Marc C.



Davis, Alessandro Dini Ciacci, J. Scott Dorius, M. Dirk Driscoll, Antonio F. Faúndez, Jose A. Fernández, Matias D. Fernandez, Candido Fortuna, Bruce E. Ghent, Michael A. Gillenwater, Daniel G. Hamilton, Mathias Held, Tom-Atle Herland, Raymond S. Heyman, Christophe Kawaya, Todd S. Larkin, Pedro X. Larreal, Juan J. Levrino, Felix A. Martinez, Kevin K. Miskin, Mark L. Pace, Ryan V. Pagaduan, A. Moroni Pérez, Carlos E. Perrotti, Mark P. Peteru, Alan T. Phillips, Thomas T. Priday, Brian L. Rawson, Rene Romay, Blake M. Roney, Luis G. Ruiz, Maximo A. Saavedra Jr., Pedro A. Sanhueza, Eric J. Schmutz, Benjamin Ming Tze Tai, Heber D. Texeira, Maxsimo C. Torres, Jesús Velez, Carlos Villarreal, Paul H. Watkins, C. Dale Willis Jr., William B. Woahn, and Luis G. Zapata.

All in favor, please manifest it. Those opposed, if any.

It is proposed that we sustain Joy D. Jones to serve as Primary general president, with Jean B. Bingham as first counselor and Bonnie H. Cordon as second counselor.

Those in favor may manifest it. Any opposed may so signify.

It is proposed that we sustain the other General Authorities, Area Seventies, and general auxiliary presidencies as presently constituted.

All in favor, please manifest it. Those opposed, if any.

President Monson, the voting has been noted. We invite those who opposed any of the proposals to contact their stake presidents.

We are grateful for all of you who sustain the leaders of the Church in their sacred callings, and we now invite those newly called General Authorities and the Primary general presidency to come forward and take their seats on the stand. ■