SATURDAY MORNING SESSION

October 6, 2007

The Sustaining of Church Officers

PRESIDENT GORDON B. HINCKLEY



will now present the General Authorities, Area Seventies, and general auxiliary presidencies of the Church for your sustaining vote. Before doing so, I should like to take note of the recent passing of President James E. Faust, Second Counselor in the First Presidency. He was an extremely able man, a man of great faith and capacity, who contributed much to our meetings. We greatly miss him. We extend our condolences to his beloved companion, Ruth, and their children.

Now it is proposed that we sustain Gordon Bitner Hinckley as prophet, seer, and revelator and President of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints; Thomas Spencer Monson as First Counselor in the First Presidency; and Henry Bennion Eyring as Second Counselor in the First Presidency.

Those in favor may manifest it. Any opposed may do so.

It is proposed that we sustain Thomas Spencer Monson as President of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles; Boyd Kenneth Packer as Acting President of the Quorum of the Twelve; and the following as members of that quorum: Boyd K. Packer, L. Tom Perry, Russell M. Nelson, Dallin H. Oaks, M. Russell Ballard, Joseph B. Wirthlin, Richard G. Scott, Robert D. Hales, Jeffrey R. Holland, Dieter F. Uchtdorf, David A. Bednar, and Quentin L. Cook.

Those in favor, please manifest it. Any who may be opposed.

It is proposed that we sustain the counselors in the First Presidency and the Twelve Apostles as prophets, seers, and revelators.

All in favor, please indicate. Contrary by the same sign.

Now we extend a release this morning to Elders Charles Didier, Merrill J. Bateman, Robert C. Oaks, and Quentin L. Cook as members of the Presidency of the Quorums of the Seventy. It is also proposed that we release Elders Merrill J. Bateman, Monte J. Brough, Gene R. Cook, Robert K. Dellenbach, and W. Rolfe Kerr as members of the First Quorum of the Seventy and designate them as emeritus General Authorities.

All who wish to join in doing so may please indicate.

Elder Kerr will continue to serve as Commissioner of the



Church Educational System.

We extend a release to Elders D. Rex Gerratt, Robert F. Orton, Wayne S. Peterson, R. Conrad Schultz, and H. Ross Workman as members of the Second Quorum of the Seventy.

Those who wish to join with us in expressing appreciation to these Brethren may manifest it.



Prior to a conference session (left to right) Elder Quentin L. Cook, Elder David A. Bednar, Elder Dieter F. Uchtdorf, Elder Jeffrey R. Holland, President Thomas S. Monson, President Gordon B. Hinckley, and President Henry B. Eyring enjoy a moment of conversation.

It is proposed that we sustain Elders Claudio R. M. Costa, Steven E. Snow, and Walter F. González as members of the Presidency of the Quorums of the Seventy.

All in favor, please manifest. Any opposed.

It is proposed that we sustain the other General Authorities, Area Seventies, and general auxiliary presidencies as presently constituted.

Those in favor may manifest it. And those opposed may so indicate. It appears that the sustaining has been unanimous in the affirmative. Thank you, brothers and sisters, for your continued sustaining faith and prayers. We shall now ask President Eyring and Elders Cook and González to take their designated seats.