## **NEWS OF THE CHURCH**

Visit news.lds.org for more Church news and events.

# New Area Leaders Assigned

he First Presidency has announced changes in area leadership assignments, effective on August 1, 2016. All members of Area Presidencies are General Authority Seventies.

The Seventy are called by revelation, under the direction of the First Presidency, to assist the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles in their ministry throughout the world.

During Christ's mortal ministry, He called the Seventy, instructed them in a manner similar to the Twelve Apostles, and sent them out "before his face,"

explaining that those who heard their voices would hear His voice (see Matthew 10:1, 16-17; Luke 10).

In a revelation given to the Prophet Joseph Smith in 1835, the Lord revealed, among other things, "the order of the Seventy, that they should have seven presidents to preside over them, chosen out of the number of the seventy" (D&C 107:93). ■

## **Presidency of the Seventy**



L. Whitney Clayton Assists in all areas



Donald L. Hallstrom **North America** Northwest North America West



Richard J. Mavnes **North America** Southeast



Craig C. **Utah North Utah Salt Lake** City **Utah South** 



Ulisses Soares Idaho North America Central



North America Southwest



Gong **North America** Northeast

#### **Africa Southeast**



Stanley G. First Counselor



Kevin S. Hamilton President



S. Mark Palmer Second Counselor

### **Africa West**



Marcus B. Nash First Counselor



Terence M. Vinson President



Vern P. Stanfill Second Counselor

#### Asia



Chi Hong (Sam) Wong First Counselor



Randy D. President



David F. Evans Second Counselor

#### **Asia North**



Kazuhiko Yamashita First Counselor



Scott D. Whiting President



Yoon Hwan Choi Second Counselor

## **Brazil**



Marcos A. Aidukaitis First Counselor



Claudio R. M. Costa President



W. Mark Bassett Second Counselor

#### Caribbean



Claudio D. Zivic First Counselor



Walter F. González President



Hugo E. Martinez Second Counselor

#### **Central America**



Adrián Ochoa First Counselor



Kevin R. Duncan President



Jose L. Alonso Second Counselor

## **Europe**



Johnson First Counselor



Patrick Kearon President



Gary B. Sabin Second Counselor

## **Europe East**



James B. Martino First Counselor



Bruce D. Porter President



Kacher Second Counselor

#### Mexico



Arnulfo Valenzuela First Counselor



Paul B. Pieper President



Rafael E. Pino Second Counselor

## **Middle East/Africa North**



Larry R. Lawrence



Wilford W. Andersen **Administered from Church** headquarters

#### **Pacific**



S. Gifford Nielsen First Counselor



O. Vincent Haleck President



Craig A. Cardon Second Counselor

## **Philippines**



Allen D. Haynie First Counselor



Shayne M. Bówen President



Evan A. Schmutz Second Counselor

## **South America Northwest**



Lawrence E. Corbridge First Counselor



Carlos A. Godoy President



Hugo Montoya Second Counselor

#### **South America South**



Allan F. Packer First Counselor



José A. Teixeira President



Mark A. Bragg Second Counselor